Gretel's Treasures

Follow her hunt for vintage jewelry and other treasures

TRUE CONFESSIONS OF GRETELS TREASURES AND HOW TO DEAL WITH JEALOUSY October 26, 2015

\

Bangle bracelets

Bangle bracelets

Every week is different at the auction. You never know what you’ll find and equally important, you never know who will be there bidding against you…Earlier this year I was in a total funk, because there was a woman who would outbid me on everything.  It made me so mad.  What really hurt was seeing my treasures going home with her, and then being listed on Ebay, WAY underpriced.   She bought massive amounts of jewelry, took awful pictures and would sell for 6.99 or best offer. (which meant she was really selling it for around 5.00)….Obsessiveness and jealousy are not pretty on me.

Assorted jewelry purchased this week

Assorted jewelry purchased this week

My obsession was not healthy for me. I whined about it to my auction friends.  My auction buddy Todd said I should just bid her up. And I tried doing that, but I didn’t want to pay that much for stuff. And it’s very hard at an auction to know who is bidding, unless they are jumping up and down. There are no paddles with numbers.  You may wonder what impact this has on pricing?  I won a case a few weeks ago for 40.00….if she had been there, she would have paid 90.00. That is a huge difference, granted you’re getting a lot of jewelry for that price, but I turn over a significant portion back to the auction. I pick what I want to keep, and throw it back.

Really cool stuff!

Really cool stuff!

How bad was it? I even tried imitating her, selling lesser jewelry for 13.99 or best offer (10.00) I found it could be done, but you have to sell a lot of mediocre jewelry at that price, and it takes just as much effort on my part to list a 10.00 item as a 20.00 or 50.00 item.  Every year the quality of my online shops has improved and streamlined. I used to sell everything! Stuffed animals, clothing, shoes, I ran from thrift shop to yard sale spending a lot of time shopping.  Now I’ve streamlined to where I go shopping, once a week, can be picky, and then theoretically list the rest of the time.  Sure I stumble into a thrift shop now and then, maybe a flea market once in a while, but I don’t spend all Saturday morning driving 100 miles trying to find something to sell. (I live in a rural area, that’s what it takes to go yard sailing around here)

More jewelry

More jewelry

Now I have to restrain myself at the auction. I don’t buy figurines, or glass, or dishes.   Occasionally small items, like antique Christmas garden toys  or lead toy animals.  And I’m happier, and my car is less trashed.  This week’s blog sounds like true confessions.

Trifari jewelry

Trifari jewelry

Now I have a nice group of auction friends. They save spots for me. We bid for each other. We talk about what case we HAVE to have, how high we’ll go for it. Do you want something out of the case I won? I give someone necklaces, she gives me some earrings.  It’s really warm and fuzzy.  And that sure beats obsession and jealousy .

This is a case I sold...for 10.00

This is a case I sold…for 10.00

This weeks auction was just nice. I arrived early to set up 2 cases of jewelry to shovel back to the auction. I thought they were nice.  Unfortunately, I only got 10.00 each for them! But the flip side is, when I sell low, I buy low….this is all non sellable costume jewelry I’m getting rid of (good for selling at flea markets, no name contemporary stuff),  but I’m buying some cool stuff….After setting up my cases, I walked around taking pictures to share on Instagram, and then I become Princess Gretel and go behind the show cases to fondle , um inspect, the trays of jewelry.   M & K were trolling through a huge box of jewelry, putting trays together, and they told me to put some together for myself! Okay joolies, picture a 20 gallon tub full of jewelry,  granted it’s filthy, but who knows what might be in there.  So major entertainment ensued.  Poor M & K, kept holding up stuff they thought I’d like, and I’d just shake my head.   I found tons of vintage beaded necklaces from the 50s, not terribly valuable, but I love beads and love sharing them with my buyers. I also put together another tray of odds and ends, including some art glass beads.  So much fun.

Huge box of jewelry I dug through to find treasures

Huge box of jewelry I dug through to find treasures

What I picked out of that huge box

What I picked out of that huge box

I conferred with a few people, about who wanted what and the bidding was on. They are still selling the estate of an antique jewelry store. Not the great stuff, but good costume is still funneling through. I’m being a good little squirrel, buying and storing acorns now, because I know the good stuff will run out someday.

Got 10.00 for selling this jewelry also!

Got 10.00 for selling this jewelry also!

It was a good day at the auction,

Thanks for reading,

Gretel

 

Leave a Reply

