Gretel's Treasures

Follow her hunt for vintage jewelry and other treasures

A LOOOOOONG DAY AT THE AUCTION! October 15, 2015

Variety of masks found at the auction

Variety of masks found at the auction

Today was really different . My 14 yr old son is out of school for the rest of the week, and for punishment, he got to come with me to the auction! I had to be there extra early (before 10:00) to set up a showcase to sell junk jewelry.  Dragged my baby out of bed with the promise of buying him breakfast.   Got in the mom mobile (a Honda CRV, I think it’s cool, he thinks it’s lame) turned on my Classical Guitar CD (which I always listen to when driving to the auction) and strapped him in the booster seat (kidding! Just checking to see if you are following along)

Statue found at the auction

Statue found at the auction

Got there with minutes to spare, got my assignment and trotted him over to the Amish restaurant in the auction building. Got him set up with our regular waitress, Marion, found something he could eat, and deserted him.

Row of showcases, mine sold for 25.00 this week!

Row of showcases, mine sold for 25.00 this week!

Set up my case, checked in on him, he’s still eating, and went back out to cruise the auction, take pictures of interesting things that I post on Instagram (follow me here:  https://instagram.com/gretelstreasures ) as part of a series “Seen at the Auction” or “Scenes from the Auction”….Nothing I needed to bid on, checked in on him again, and we went out to look at the jewelry trays.  I’m princess Gretel again, so I can go behind the showcases and touch and breath and drool on all the jewelry. They’re still selling that Estate of a closed Jewelry Shop, today there was Trifari, Art Deco, a Miriam Haskell later set, assorted other treasures.  Nothing I was willing to spend a lot on, but the jewelry would be a good investment for the future.

Outside, a football field full of junk, er, treasures

Outside, a football field full of junk, er, treasures

Then, Son and Mom went outside to look in the field, it’s huge, maybe a football field, with assorted treasures lined up in rows. He found 2 Zippo lighters, which he has decided to collect, in original boxes, and got them for 10.00…I found a cute cow butter holder, says Ironstone, Made in England, stole that for 10.00 also. Outside you can make piles of stuff, to create your own lot, but someone can come and take one item out  and bid on it singly, that’s how I scored the cow.

Pile of trays of jewelry, buy 1-4 at a time

Pile of trays of jewelry, buy 1-4 at a time

Time for lunch at the Amish restaurant. Back to waitress Marion, who we have known for years, and every Wed Todd (my auction buddy) and I have the exact same lunch. The child had French Fries. Munch Munch, back to the jewelry auction which was getting ready. I didn’t see any showcases I needed, that was a good thing. My case sold for 25.00, which was okay, it was mostly junk, good for flea markets.  Chatted with lots of auction friends and waited for the jewelry. Child went and got a chocolate milkshake

One of the trays that I won

One of the trays that I won

I didn’t need any of it, but, for 10-20 dollars for 2 trays, I was up for investing. And I got a lot bang for my buck. I did get the Miriam Haskell set (it’s rather contemporary, but still sellable), some rhinestone goodies, just a mix up of better quality stuff costume stuff. When I was finished bidding, I took my pile to divide what to keep, throw back at the auction, or wholesale on Ebay.  I can get slightly better prices with wholesale lots on Ebay, where I make my own prices, instead of at the auction, where I might get 10 dollars or 90 dollars for a case.

Contemporary Miriam Haskell set

Contemporary Miriam Haskell set

So we both had a nice day at the auction! Thanks for reading, you can follow me everywhere on Social Media, including Facebook!

https://www.facebook.com/GretelsTreasures

Thanks for reading, see you next time,

Gretel

Cool guitar!

Cool guitar!

 

Leave a Reply

