Gretel's Treasures

Follow her hunt for vintage jewelry and other treasures

LIONS AND TIGERS AND BEARS OH MY! VINTAGE FIGURAL ANIMAL JEWELRY September 25, 2015

Celluloid Scottie Dog Pin signed Japan

Celluloid Scottie Dog Pin signed Japan

At the auction last week was all about better quality costume jewelry. It was very stressful, time consuming, and could be disappointing if I didn’t get what I wanted. I talked to one buyer this week, who gave up on bidding for things because prices were going too high. Last week he asked me what I thought the Miriam Haskell jewelry would go for. I said 300-500 dollars (I don’t know much about the brand just that it’s priced really high online) He scoffed and said it shouldn’t be more than 100.00. Well this week I checked and one necklace did go for 325.00.

Group of Miriam Haskell jewelry from last week

Group of Miriam Haskell jewelry from last week

So this week was back to normal, no Miriam Haskell. No Juliana rhinestone jewelry.   Just the regular bunch of hit or miss assorted vintage stuff. which I like. I can buy a lot for my money, pick out what to keep (the most perfect and profitable items) and regurgitate the remaining jewelry back to the auction next week.

Stacks of jewelry, ready to be auctioned by the tray

Stacks of jewelry, ready to be auctioned by the tray

There was tons of jewelry to pick through. I probably ended up with 15 pounds (a lot of which is going back) What I’d like to talk about today is the opposite of high end costume jewelry. Figural animal kitsch jewelry. It’s a weakness of mine. (I guess all jewelry is a weakness for me) I often wonder what the other bidders think about me. I’ll go some weeks and buy just a few things. Then one week, bang, buy tons of what looks like junk. Which just about describes kitschy animal jewelry. It was thrown together in a cardboard box. I said to someone, don’t let me bid on this. No one stopped me. I got it for probably around 30.00.

Cardboard box with assorted figural jewelry

Cardboard box with assorted figural jewelry

These smallish pins were often sold in pairs to be worn together, thus the term scatter pins. I think of these mostly from the 1950s and 1960s, though you can find animal jewelry back to the Art Deco period. These are not fine quality pins. Often sold in 5 & 10 stores, Woolworths, etc, they can be painted, have rhinestones, faux pearls, even googly eyes.   They aren’t particularly sellable, but what I love is finding a pair of ostrich pins and waiting for an ostrich lover, somewhere in the world, to find them and buy them.

Poodle holding a beach ball with 2 dachshunds holding a stick

Poodle holding a beach ball with 2 dachshunds holding a stick

In this box were turtles, fish, elephant with eye glasses, cats and dogs, a dancing fox, a cat playing a saxophone, mice, donkeys, and who knows what else. Some were signed Trifari, some Gerrys. I find a significant amount of these were signed Gerrys, painted in bright crazy colors and sold in pairs. In this box there were a dachshund, ostrich, squirrel, and mouse pairs.

Unusual pair of ostrich scatter pins, signed Gerrys

Unusual pair of ostrich scatter pins, signed Gerrys

Often, to justify the madness in buying this silly pins, I will group them together, hoping to find a buyer who collects a particular animal. I’ve done well with turtle and bug collector pins.

Group of turtle pins, bottom left is signed Trifari

Group of turtle pins, bottom left is signed Trifari

Gretels Treasures shop can be found on Ebay and Etsy.  Some day I’ll tell you how and why I sell on both venues.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/GretelsTreasures

Assortment of cat pins, all from the same cardboard box

Assortment of cat pins, all from the same cardboard box

If you’d like to see the oddities I find at the auction, follow me on Instagram, I try to post something every day that I’ve seen including bad clown art, Mid Century Modern furniture, Buddha statues, cowboy boots just to name a few things I’ve seen in the last week. Thanks for visiting Gretels Treasures blog

https://instagram.com/gretelstreasures/

Teensy cat, 1 inch, playing a saxophone, with a pearl belly

Teensy cat, 1 inch, playing a saxophone, with a pearl belly

 

One Response to “LIONS AND TIGERS AND BEARS OH MY! VINTAGE FIGURAL ANIMAL JEWELRY”

  1. boylerpf Says:

    Fabulous figural jewelry!


Leave a Reply

