Gretel's Treasures

Follow her hunt for vintage jewelry and other treasures

WHAT $80.00 BUYS YOU AT AN AUCTION! June 12, 2015

Wow! Look at all the Treasures!

Wow! Look at all the Treasures!

Pickings have been pretty slim at my auction.  State law recently changed and we aren’t allowed to sell precious metals anymore, unless we have a precious metal license.  Ever since they started enforcing that rule at my auction,  there has been a lot less jewelry.  Auctions are a great place to dump unwanted stuff, and for me that would be odds and ends of sterling that I couldn’t sell on Ebay or Etsy. Now I have it saved up in a plastic baggy.

3 MOONGLOW BEAD NECKLACES WITH STERLING SILVER CLASPS

3 MOONGLOW BEAD NECKLACES WITH STERLING SILVER CLASPS

Still there are lots of opportunities to buy treasures every week.  Earlier this year I’ve had problems with people outbidding me.  Poor Gretel expects treasures to be handed to here, on a silver plate, for very little money.  So I’ve had to bite the bullet, put on my big girl pants, and start bidding with abandon.  What that meant was that 2 weeks ago I paid 325.00 for a case of jewelry….that’s a lot of money. I was outbid on 3 other cases for similar prices…..and you know what, I’m not going to make a great profit on that case. (Insert Buyer’s Remorse sign here)

BLACK AND WHITE ART GLASS BEADED NECKLACE

BLACK AND WHITE ART GLASS BEADED NECKLACE

Then, last week, I bought a box of jewelry for 20.00, and found loads of good stuff in it, surprisingly.  And a Minolta camera, which I gave to my auction buddy Todd, because I just don’t want to deal with things  other than jewelry and vintage accessories. It’s taken me 3 years to realize my niche market. I know what I’m selling with costume jewelry, I can describe it really well, and find the perfect buyer for it.

AURORA BOREALIS FACETED GLASS BEAD JEWELRY SET

AURORA BOREALIS FACETED GLASS BEAD JEWELRY SET

So what did 80.00 get me? Every week, since I’m a special person, I get to go behind the counter and paw, examine all the jewelry they’re selling. I get to turn pins over and see whether it is signed, and whether it has the pin back attached. (Frequently it doesn’t) This gives me a distinct advantage over other buyers, because I know whether something is a Crown Trifari or an Avon pin. One is very desirable, the other, maybe not so much.

4 LOVELY BRACELETS

4 LOVELY BRACELETS

This week there were loads of vintage necklaces.  This Spring I’m selling tons of necklaces,  and was happy to see them. Plus, the other buyers aren’t aware of their value.  Not worth a lot, but for the right price, I get a lot of jewelry to play with.

5GLASS BEAD NECKLACES

5GLASS BEAD NECKLACES

These were multi strand aurora borealis beads, art glass beads, moonglow beads. Some were signed West Germany, some Sterling, some Art Deco, and one sweet little Amco gold filled necklace.  So much bidding strategy was to bid on everything (sold in 2-4 tray lots at a time) and just see what I could get, cheap.  I got about 12 trays of jewelry for 15-30 dollars a lot.  There was some junk in there that will be funneled back into the auction in the near future.  What I was left with to sell was about 40 necklaces and bracelets! Gotta get listing!

AMCO ANTIQUE REVIVAL GOLD FILLED NECKLACE

AMCO ANTIQUE REVIVAL GOLD FILLED NECKLACE

BROKEN ART DECO GLASS BEAD NECKLACES

BROKEN ART DECO GLASS BEAD NECKLACES

WEST GERMANY ART GLASS BEADED NECKLACES

WEST GERMANY ART GLASS BEADED NECKLACES

Hope you enjoyed the pictures,  please visit my shops on Etsy and Ebay!

http://stores.ebay.com/GRETELS-TRINKETS-AND-TREASURES

https://www.etsy.com/shop/GretelsTreasures

 

3 Responses to “WHAT $80.00 BUYS YOU AT AN AUCTION!”

  1. Some wonderful finds. Congratulations!

  2. Thanks for this post really interesting |

  3. Denise Says:

    This is an awesome collection. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

