Gretel's Treasures

Follow her hunt for vintage jewelry and other treasures

Gretel Says: Catching Up is Hard to Do! June 17, 2013

A box of jewelry!

A box of jewelry!

Still trying to catch up with a huge lot of jewelry I bought a few weeks ago. It weighed about 10 pounds, a combination of new old stock jewelry from Rhode Island and the traditional vintage stuff I usually get. So the above red K’Nex toy box was full of jewelry. I’m just going to show you some of the fun stuff inside of it:

Huge Statement Necklace

Huge Statement Necklace

I really like this piece, from the 70s or 80s, it’s from the warehouse that closed in Rhode Island. New Old Stock. Sitting for over 30 years! I just find it a compelling piece.

Les Bernard modernist brooch

Les Bernard modernist brooch

This is a huge modernist looking piece by Les Bernard. the cabochons are glass (faux stone), right now it’s on reserve for someone, come July 1 if they haven’t paid it goes back on line, I really like this too!

And more Pins!

And more Pins!

Pins

Pins

Pins

Pins

I got an incredible amount of pins. See above! One of the more unusual ones is a Boucher pin, mid 1960s, of a gazelle in front of a slice of agate geod:

Boucher Gazelle Pin

Boucher Gazelle Pin

This is a lovely, hard to find pin. I was trying to list it today, didn’t find anything exactly like it, but I found enough to be thoroughly confused. Mr. T and I argue every week (usually over lunch, egg salad for me, roast beast and cheddar for him) he says I need to do auctions, I say nononono, most of what I sell has a quantitative value, so I know about how much a piece of jewelry can sell for. If I sell at auction, and my special customer around the globe isn’t looking that week, I could under sell an item. So this cool Boucher pin, a similar one has sold for 79.00 recently on ebay. However, there are currently 2 for sale online at 279.00. How the heck do you price this pin? At 79.00 I’m doing okay, but this is an extra special mid-century pin, there are none for sale on ebay right now. Google images only shows a small handful of similar pins. Personally, I’m really uncomfortable putting a high price on it. I do want it to sell, I don’t want it to join a lot of other friends in a velvet lined drawer at my house.

Selling high priced items is tough. I currently have a denim jacket from Barneys for sale, it was part of an AMFAR fundraiser, a limited edition designed by LA artist Joel Otterson. It’s cool, it’s been priced really high with no interest. It’s been priced low with no interest. Only 100 were made. It needs a special home, maybe I should send it to AMFAR and see if they would like to auction it off again. I can’t imagine how much it sold for originally, and I found it in a cardboard box in the field at the auction! Here’s the link for it, see if it works!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230986159295&ssPageName=STRK:MESE:IT

But you’re here for the jewelry. What else did I find that week?

Coro Locket, 4 pictures

Coro Locket, 4 pictures

A sweet little Coro 4 way locket, this is the 2nd time I’ve come across one of these. Very delicate and feminine.

I’ll be honest with you. I’ve been more than a little preoccupied over the last couple weeks. I’m going through a lifestyle change, it’s a good thing, but still it has me a bit topsy turvy. My darling Husband (dh) recently got a full time job after 4 years of searching. This is a great thing, but I’m going to have to take up the slack at home. I’ve tended to obsess about Ebay and Etsy (and Pinterest, and the Ecochic Team at Etsy, and buying stuff, and selling stuff, and and and…) So I going to try and back down a bit. I’ve been selling everything on Ebay, which can make a person a bit schizophrenic. I sell clothes, shoes, glass, animal figurines, mens ties, assorted vintage items, toys, plush animals, and jewelry. Now I know jewelry is my best seller, and I have probably enough to list just that for the rest of the year. So I’m going to try and back off of selling everything under the sun and sell just what I love, jewelry, animals, glass, that kind of thing. And I also am going to have to start getting up earlier to get my son off to school or day camp. DH starts work at 6:30, I’m used to getting up after 8:00, so you can see one of us is going to have to get the male child to the school bus and it looks like I’m the logical one. So I’m still going to the auction every week, but concentrating on jewelry that I love, early 20th century glass beads, rhinestones, glitzy yummy stuff.

It’s getting dark out here, I’ve still got to write to you about last weeks auction. I bought a lot of silver again. You were supposed to stop me from doing that!!! I’ll give you a hint…sterling silver bunnies!

TTFN as Tigger would say
Gretel

 

One Response to “Gretel Says: Catching Up is Hard to Do!”

  1. Todd Hughes Says:

    I think that is an Ibex on the pin , they are usually shown perched on a peak

    I think in many ways an auction brings out parts of human nature that cause you to get more money especially on unique items , which is what you sell. Think about it…if when you are at an auction and you want necklace do you bid at the opening price? No you start low and then keep on going, and I bet you have often bid higher then what you would have passed over it if you saw it at a flea market. People don’t like to get out bid and also think ” hey if someone bids $20 on it it much be worth $22″ …. Human nature
    Lets be honest we really don’t “know” what a lot of what we sell is worth or will sell for. I sold a leather punch last night for $60, I figured maybe $15-20 so if I hadn’t went with the auction probably would have lost money

    Love your blog!


Leave a Reply

