Gretel's Treasures

Follow her hunt for vintage jewelry and other treasures

Gretel has a Love Hate Affair with Jewelry May 16, 2013

Flower Haul

Flower Haul

Dear Friends,

I haven’t forgotten about you. This blog stuff is such a commitment, and in case I haven’t said so, I am a commitment phobe. One of my favorite blogs is “Queen of 50 Cents”. I have a link to it on this blog. It’s a woman in Oregon who goes garage sailing, and usually posts once a week, about all the cool stuff she finds. She’s into mid century furnishing, has a mid century house, takes pictures of dogs and cats she meets along her travels, and I really look forward to it. She’s a retired librarian, and a mystery writer, and has a great garden. That’s a lot to aspire to.

Anyway, she doesn’t blog every week, and I’m so disappointed when she doesn’t write, but boy do I understand the not wanting to write every week thing. I wonder if writing about my auction experiences is that interesting or relevant or whatever. I think a lot of my lack of inspiration to write has to do with the fact that there just hasn’t been that much great jewelry to write about. And I have such a backlog of listing stuff there’s no need to go out and buy more. (yes, I know I’m still buying more, but not in huge quantities) I can only save so much stuff.

I think I’m a bit unusual in that I don’t like to hoard the stuff I get. I enjoy throwing things out (by that I mean donating them) So I see this avalanche of jewelry piling up, and am starting to panic. I have boxes of stuff, a closet of stuff, some shelves, and then there is the precious costume jewelry. I think I’m going to have to bite the bullet, and dump a bunch of it at the auction just to get rid of it.

I actually hadn’t bought much jewelry in the last few weeks, but last week I thought I saw some items that were worthwhile. There were more people than usual, and prices were going really high, then I heard mumblings about it being the week before the Brimfield Mass, shows. I don’t keep track of those, having never gone there, but evidently the Eastern Shore of Maryland is on the way to Brimfield for a lot of people. So there were lots more people at the auction, who were spending. (Last week would have been a great week to dump my jewelry)…There was one small lot, pictured at the top, that I thought was interesting, and I got it for 15.00. Loving the flower jewelry I was happy with it, till I looked at it. Some of the porcelain flowers were chipped, a lot of the pins were missing their backs (argh), and one was mysteriously really really really sticky. I can’t figure out what it is, just picture taking a pin, dunking it in molasses, then letting it dry. Yuck. Fortunately, I got to have lunch with my auction buddy Mr. T, he had wanted one thing from the jewelry table, but I missed it. While looking at my box at lunch, I pulled out this engineering device that had been in the flower lot, and lo and behold, it was the thingy that he wanted. He gave me 15.00 for it, so I’ve broken even on the flower debacle.

Surprise Box of Goodies

Surprise Box of Goodies

Okay, I with held information from you. I did get some jewelry. See the little box above. There are treasures (to me) in there. While waiting for the jewelry auction to start I wandered down the aisles to see what they were auctioning off in the dishes section. Please note, very few dishes are involved. This is really the “smalls” auction, antiques, glass, small furniture, pictures etc. They don’t want you selling jewelry there because jewelry slooooowwwssss down the auction. So what did I come upon among the tables but a large glass case of costume jewelry. This jewelry was better than anything in the jewelry auction to be held. With the lid open so you could paw through the goodies. Well, how fantastic. I started picking through, filling up a little box (see above, again). Things get down and dirty at this part of the auction. I was standing next to a lovely woman who was also pawing through, picking out a few things. Let me just tell you what I didn’t get up front, a Coro Duette pin of 2 birds (paint intact, large size) and 2 lisner necklaces. I freaked out when I saw the Coro duette, because I know how much they have been worth. So I had my little box, with the Coro and Lisner pieces in it, and a woman came up and ever so calmly said she had pulled those out and put them aside. She took them out of my box and said I could bid on the Coro pin by itself. Well, fine and dandy, take them, I’m not getting into a cat fight in the aisle over some jewelry I don’t need.

I just stood there biding my time, waiting for the auctioneer to reach this table. And let me tell you the auctioneer assistants were not happy about dealing with jewelry. They don’t want to sell it individually, and there was a bunch of it to deal with. The woman next to me got her little box for 20.00. I handed the asst. my box and he just put it down in the case, and I picked it up again. A bit later I gave it to the asst. again, but not before a guy behind me pulled out a Mexico silver piece and wanted to bid on it by itself. No problem, didn’t need that either. Items start at 20.00, but the asst. wanted to start the pin at 50.00! this is how annoyed they are at dealing with jewelry. I don’t know what it sold for, I just gently gave my little box (which I kept piling more and more into while I waited) to the asst. and held my breath. They held up my little box, then dumped everything on a table top, above eye level (????) Happy me, I got it for 30.00. The woman with the Coro pin fetish issue gave her box to the asst, but first he took a jewelry box of junk necklaces and started the auction at 20.00, no one bid on them, then he took her little box and dumped it on top of the pile. (Tee Hee from me) I don’t know how high the bidding went, but it blew through to 100.00 very quickly.

Informational side note, I checked my smart phone while waiting to see if the Coro Birds were worth bidding on. There are a few on ebay listed for 200-300 dollars, but none have sold recently. I didn’t want to spend 90.00 for a pin that wouldn’t for a nice mark up.

So, you are asking yourself, what did I get? I like to fly under the wire, yes I love buying something for 1.00 and selling it for 85.00, but that’s not going to happen with everything. So let’s take a look at what I did get.

First assortment

First assortment

Sweet little sterling silver pin, a sterling silver and turquoise pendant, a nice little Calla Lily pin, signed, but can’t quite make it out, and what I love is the pair of gold washed sterling crown pins attached with a chain. I love crown jewelry

WE Richards Victorian Revival Set

WE Richards Victorian Revival Set

This is a sweet little set signed WRE, for WE Richards, I’m not sure if it’s bone, faux ivory or ivory. Can’t sell ivory on Ebay even if it’s antique. I’ll have to say faux or ox bone. But it’s a nice set.

Rhinestone and painted necklace

Rhinestone and painted necklace

This is a really pretty vintage necklace with rhinestones and painted leaves, it has most if not all of its paint attached.

3 vintage pins

3 vintage pins

The black pin on the left is signed Regency, not an exciting piece, but it’s nice. The middle goldtone pin is from the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC, and the round red rhinestone pin is unmarked, but red is a great color to sell

Owls and Turtles

Owls and Turtles

Two little owl scatter pins with marbled thermoset bellies, and a good size turtle pin with a tortoise shell color shell

Bracelets

Bracelets

Finally, 5 bracelets, one is a stone scarab bracelet, 3 glass scarab bracelets, and a pretty pink vintage bracelet

I’m happy with this collection of treasures, all good vintage collectible jewelry, nothing coated in molasses, and everything is good to go.

I would love to hear from you, if there’s something you’d like to see more of, do you want me to write about the yard sales I go to, what you enjoy in a blog. Please check out Queen of 50 Cents blog too. Thanks for reading,

Gretel

 

One Response to “Gretel has a Love Hate Affair with Jewelry”

  1. Todd Hughes Says:

    Missed your blog last week! I really enjoy reading it and seeing all the good stuff you find.
    Flea markets starting to get good you should think about going to some, would make a good addition to your blog to talking about crazy flea market people!


Leave a Reply

