Gretel's Treasures

Follow her hunt for vintage jewelry and other treasures

Gretels Jewelry Box April 12, 2013

Hi gang, I’m back. I did get to go to the auction last week, but on Thursday I had my gallbladder out, so I’ve basically been out of commission for a week, I didn’t even go to the auction yesterday, and it was rather a relief. Besides not being up for it, the last few weeks I’ve been taking a beating at the jewelry table, and I don’t bounce back very well!… The combination of buyers with deep products and NO good costume jewelry have left me soured on the auction. It was suggested by my friend “T” that I should have saved my gallbladder stone and made a necklace out of it, yuck. So, here we go, a review of the April 4 auction! There’s lots of pictures tonight, so stay tuned!

Gretel's Jewelry Box Treasures!

Gretel’s Jewelry Box Treasures!

All I went shopping for last week was jewelry. I didn’t NEED any more, but, a girl can never have enough diamonds, or rhinestones! There wasn’t really anything great, at this point, I really only want to buy “great” costume jewelry. There were a few things towards the middle that were interesting, so I cruised around the rest of the hall. Chit chatted with a few people and found a jewelry box, that actually had a lot of nice costume pieces inside its drawers. I usually find that jewelry goes for more when it’s mixed up with the regular odds and ends of pottery, ceramics, glass and other antique smalls. This was purely costume, no silver or gold, but it was more interesting than anything at the jewelry counter. And thus I became the ping pong ball at the auction. Bouncing back and forth between the two spaces. I agonized over where to stay, since I figured they would come up around the same time.

I stand at the front of the jewelry auction counter, the better to see things that others miss. I save spots for “D” and “L”. I explained my problem to “L”. She worked out and left my bid (of 120.00) with one of the auctioneers in the back. I was staking her spot at the auction table so she could buy some artwork. There was tons of prints being sold at the jewelry auction (they sell coins, rugs, jewelry, art and odds and ends)…there didn’t seem to be a lot of buyers so I hoped that would work in my favor. So I stood there through the stamps, the coins, the prints, the cases of jewelry, the decoys, and whatever else till they got to the costume jewelry.

….And all I got for that waiting was one pre WWII green rhinestone necklace, for 15.00. I won’t buy junk anymore, I don’t have a great outlet for it. I’m trying to avoid silver because it makes me uncomfortable, I don’t know how to value it, and it goes for way more than I can resell for a profit. I find that if I buy a silver bracelet for 10-15 dollars, in general I can only sell it for 35-45.00. That is not a great markup for me, factoring all the costs involved. Some I can sell for a lot more if they’re special, but these are plain old boring little silver necklaces that really don’t show well in pictures.

So I bailed out of the jewelry auction and went back to the jewelry box, they were still 2 tables away. (So boring!!!, I need to bring books on tape or something to entertain me)…There was a lot of interest in it. I wanted to be there for the auction to make sure everything I wanted was still in it. Sometimes people will pull stuff out, and I wanted to prevent that. I tried to be chill, and not care, I told the auction assistant I’d be bidding on it myself. “T” had an ex-girlfriend tagging along and she wanted to bid on it, my fangs started to come out, but I sucked them back in and smiled sweetly.

I remember being at an auction 20 years ago in Philly, and I was bidding on a box of jewelry, I got out bid, don’t remember for how much, but I asked the person how much she wanted for one piece, and she wanted like the whole price of the box. I was shocked, now I’m in that position of buying boxes of jewelry and then selling them for retail.

So the auction for the box starts. I stayed out of the initial bidding, I think I chimed in when it started to slow down, around 120.00, which was what had been my limit. Auctions are so hard. You keep thinking if I just stick it out one more round I’ll win. I was bidding against someone else from the jewelry counter too, a really nice guy from Bucks County PA, anyway we blew past 150.00 and I finally got it for 180.00. I actually had some people come up to me and say what was in there? I was happy. I felt I could get some money out of it, there were some nice pieces and if you’ve stuck it out with me this long, you’re about to see them!

Hair comb, thermoset necklace, odds and ends

Hair comb, thermoset necklace, odds and ends

This was an interesting collection of 20th century jewelry. From the 1920s through the 1960s. Mostly older stuff. Some signed, nothing extremely exciting but a lot of solid collectible items. The hair comb is missing a lot of rhinestones, I doubt I’ll repair it, I’ll probably sell it as part of a lot of hair ornaments. There’s also a nice red thermoset plastic necklace in the picture.

Emerald green rhinestone necklace, assorted rhinestone jewelry

Emerald green rhinestone necklace, assorted rhinestone jewelry

Here is the one green rhinestone necklace that I bought at the jewelry auction, unfortunately the clasp is broken, I’m not sure how I’ll sell it. It’s pre WWII. Also more rhinestones!

Rhinestone necklaces, earrings, clips, and pins

Rhinestone necklaces, earrings, clips, and pins

Starting to show you the better stuff from the box. All of these lovely diamonds, er rhinestones were tangled up together, there is a massive pin plop in the center, I’ve never seen anything that big before.

Crystal faceted glass bead jewelry

Crystal faceted glass bead jewelry

These are simply lovely necklaces, all faceted glass crystal beads, pink, lavender, clear, I had a peacock color one, that broke at the auction. I was heartbroken. “T” says I should just restring it, I can do that but I always think that lessens that value, but nothing lessens value more than a completely broken beaded necklace!

Grey rhinestone bracelet

Grey rhinestone bracelet

I have never seen a rhinestone bracelet like this. it is a cuff style, all rhinestones,but flexible. I believe it’s old, the setting has an old feel to it. All prong set, really beautiful.

Lisner blue and green rhinestone pin

Lisner blue and green rhinestone pin

Lovely midcentury Lisner rhinestone pin.

Rhinestone belt

Rhinestone belt

A rhinestone belt, I’ve never seen one like this before. The metal work links are very well made, guess it’s from the 30s or 50s? I had someone ask me how much I wanted for it at the auction, I told her I couldn’t really tell without doing research on it.

Trifari rhinestone and faux pearl pin

Trifari rhinestone and faux pearl pin

This is a super nice Trifari rhinestone pin. I’m not that knowledgable about Trifari jewelry, there are so many different styles, signatures, but I know this is a very pretty piece with all the original stones and pearls.

Egyptian revival glass bracelet

Egyptian revival glass bracelet

Here’s my comfort zone. Egytian revival bookchain bracelet with molded glass cabochons showing Egyptian Motifs. Unfortunately one cabochon is cracked and broken, I still think it’s a worthwhile piece, 1920s?

Sterling silver art deco circle pin

Sterling silver art deco circle pin

This is a sterling art deco circle pin with rhinestones and faux pearls. I really like this piece, I know I said there was no sterling in the box, so this was a surprise. Today was the first time I actually even looked through the box since the auction. It’s been in my car for a week. The pearls have some surface cracks, but it’s a really cool large piece, I think someone is going to love this.

Italian micro mosaic pin and earrings set

Italian micro mosaic pin and earrings set

More glass jewelry! Micro mosaic set from Italy, they’ve taken teensy tiny bits of glass and made pretty pictures on the earrings and pins. Quality varies widely for this type of jewelry. It’s still done today, I’m not a great connoisseur of the style, but they’re pretty and a set. Nice. Finally my last picture.

Austrian Fruit PIn

Austrian Fruit PIn

I personally love this style of jewelry. Made in Austria, it features a pear made out of a multi colored glass cabochon shaped like a pear. I’ve never had one before. I don’t wear pins, they’re high maintenance to me, but I love the colors in the glass cabochons.

Thanks for sticking with me so long on this. I’ll give you an idea of some things I have in store for the next month. Yard sales and flea markets are starting up again, yay! So I’ll be going out every Sat looking for treasures there. I’m looking for animal figurines this year. I’ve already sold one of my 21 dogs that I bought a few weeks ago. (An afghan hound that went to Switzerland, dog lovers are great buyers, I know because I am one! I buy smoosh faced dogs and faux Staffordshire dogs) Renningers Extravaganza is coming up in 2 weeks. Thousands of dealers converge on 2 small towns in Pennsylvania, and all the townsfolk have garage sales to take advantage of the buyers. I might make it to Kutztown this year. I’ve been a couple of times. IF not I’ll be in Adamstown PA, Antique capital of the country (or so their banner reads)

http://www.renningers.com/kutzexthome.htm

Check it out. It is so large, you can’t see everything in one day. See you next time, I didn’t forget about you,

Gretel

 

2 Responses to “Gretels Jewelry Box”

  1. Todd Hughes Says:

    That jewelry looks so much more impressive in your photos then it did jumbled in the box when you bought it!
    Missed you Wednesday,outside was kind of brutal, saw a few things I bet you would have liked
    So you didn’t save the gall stone!?… I would have made you a necklace ! LOL

  2. crim19 Says:

    Love your blog Greta! Felt like I was right there with you! Really well written and intriguing!


Leave a Reply

