Gretel's Treasures

Follow her hunt for vintage jewelry and other treasures

Gretel Gets Glass March 29, 2013

Eastern Shore Maryland Treasure

Eastern Shore Maryland Treasure

This is going to be a really short post today. I think. I have a lot of stock so I didn’t need to dig around out in the fields. Plus it was really cold and windy this week. There was a lot of jewelry, but nothing I had to have. I did decide to stick through the costume jewelry in case there was something I missed.

I get pictures the night before from the auction company of what is going to be sold. I saw a gorgeous purple and green glass bowl that I would have loved to own. By the time I got there it must have been sold already, it’s a shame because it would have matched what I was wearing, I always like to color coordinate my outfits with what I am buying. (not!)

I did see 3 murano style bowls/dishes that I wanted, and got all 3 for 30.00. Quite acceptable:

Aqua chartreuse bowl

Aqua chartreuse bowl

This is the prettiest bowl I got I love the chartreuse mixed with the aqua…

Aventurine bowl

Aventurine bowl

This is a double layer bowl. The bottom layer appears to be glass, the top layer is aventurine, a copper glass combination that is quite yummy

Small silver foil bowl

Small silver foil bowl

This is a smaller double layer bowl with silver foil in it. Not as exciting as the colored ones but still nice.

I then ran back to the jewelry counter. I worked out a deal this week, with a coin buyer. I gave him my front row spot, during the coins, so I could work the back of the room where the tables were. This worked out well for me, cause coins bore the heck out of me. I came back and got my spot after the coins were done, and he got great front row real estate for bidding. For some reason (maybe new buyers) the jewelry was going much higher that I thought was right. The only thing I bought was this art nouveau? glass pin, I love it, but noticed after I got it that one of the stones was chipped. Argh.

Art Nouveau style pin

Art Nouveau style pin

There was a lot more glass I was interested in. Costume was done, there were some amber bracelets coming up a bit later, so I went back and looked in on the glass. I got a nice blown glass pitcher and small purple vase. Sorry, they’re in the car that’s at boy scouts tonight! The amber went for way high. I talked to my friend L, who sells at flea markets, and she said prices were way too high. She usually walks out with a nice size box of jewelry (silver, gold and costume) today her box was empty!

Finally, I bought myself something that I love. I paid, for me, a lot of money for this. I love art glass, have worked with small torches so I really can feel the work that went into each piece. This week there was a who collection of biscuit jars. Usually they have a silver handle, they tend to be british (thus the biscuit instead of cookie jar). They had wood, ceramic and glass ones. One was art glass. I said I’d go up to 40.00 for it, and went push came to shove I blew past it and got this lovely for 90.00. If I try to sell it, it will have a high price put upon it. It’s good because it will appeal to art glass buyers and biscuit jar buyers. I love it, it makes me so happy. My friend “T” (who bought a taxidermied black squirrell this week) will be happy that I spent a lot on something. He hates that I call myself a bottom feeder.

Art glass silver plate biscuit jar

Art glass silver plate biscuit jar

Remember my box of owls I bought earlier this year. So far I have sold 5 of the Boehm owls (all to the same person!) and a pair of bookends. Woo hoo on the owls. Hope you’re enjoying my pictures of the Eastern Shore of Maryland. Thanks for reading my blog.

Unknown stream

Unknown stream

[

 

3 Responses to “Gretel Gets Glass”

  1. joanne Says:

    you are a good writer! very funny too!

  2. Todd Hughes Says:

    Glad you got that biscuit jar, I know you liked it and it WAS beautiful!
    I saw where you sold those owls very well, is great that you know about such things… if you were a bottom feeder you wouldn’t

    I had orders Not to buy that squirrel but Mosa loved it and was happy this time that I didn’t listen to her…..T.


Leave a Reply

