Gretel's Treasures

Follow her hunt for vintage jewelry and other treasures

Gretel Goes to the Dogs March 22, 2013

Todays goodies

Todays goodies

Yes literally I’ve gone to the dogs. Got up bright and early for the auction, it was a beautiful sunny day and I decided I should take advantage of the weather, since it’s often too hot or too wet or too something for this delicate flower to brave the wild jungle known as “the field”. I actually made it to the auction by 9:00, when they start. (after doing a drive by breakfast at Mickey D’s) Strategy for today was check out the jewelry first, so I would know how long I could spend outside. The jewelry was pitiful. I have so much now, it’s really going to have to be special and vintage and rhinestone for me to buy. Lucky me. I didn’t look at anything else inside because I knew the best buys (for me) would be outside.

So I drove over, parked the car, got my shopping cart out and started stalking the aisles. The first thing I found was a very large (16″ tall) orange laughing Buddha, he was chipped a little, but I thought he would look great in my yard. But of course I didn’t want to pay for him, so I had to find something to add to him. I found lots of stuffed animals lying around, found a big box, put the Buddha in the bottom, and piled on a Taco Bell Chihauhau, a stuffed frog, stuffed lamb, and a few stuffed golden retrievers, including one that was life size.

Stuffed Animals

Stuffed Animals

I left my pile and continued on. I found a life size Doberman Pinscher dog further on that I combined with an owl figurine. And some other oddities. Found a really cool decanter with stopper shaped like a diamond, with no base, so it kind of slanted on it’s side. I combined that with a straw hat, a globe and a mid century ash tray. That’s what I do just walk around making little piles and forget about them. I met up with my auction buddy Mr. T, and hung out awhile with him. Went back to check on the stuffed animals. Would you believe someone actually bid against me on them? I got them for 30.00, more than I wanted, but the orange Buddha was in the bottom, and the stuffed animals will do okay. We carried my haul to my car and filled up the back seat. They’re really big stuffed animals!

Went back to check on my Doby, turned out his nose had been chewed off, so I threw him back. It was really quite sad. There were a number of nice bird figurines, including a peacock, but they were all broken. A lot of stuff gets broken just by people scrambling through boxes looking for a diamond. The owl figurine was in great shape, but did I really need another owl? Remember a few weeks ago I bought a box of owls (I’ve sold 3 of them so far, all Boehm to the same person)…so I looked around and asked a guy if I could put my owl with his lot and give him a dollar if he wins. He was cool with that so I added the owl to his pile. (I kind of hate when people ask me if they can add to my pile, there’s always the gamble that that one item will drive up the price, but I’ve helped out other people that way) He said “Bill W. will probably outbid me” this guy is a big time buyer at the auction. He brings in an empty trailer every week and fills it with everything. He’s also a competitor with me in jewelry. Long story short, the guy won his lot and I got the owl for a dollar.

Great horned owl for 1.00

Great horned owl for 1.00

So my next great find was a bunch of bottles. I love glass so much. There were a lot of colorful novelty bottles from the 1970s. These were impressed with historical figures, 1976 bicentennial stuff, they don’t sell that well, but there was a blue violin, and a purple violin bottle I liked. There were also 3 boxes of small “presidential” bottles from Wheaton Glass in New Jersey. I didn’t think they were worth a lot, but thought they’d be pretty in a window so I added that to my collection. I rounded it out with some Lincoln logs, a glass cat, a couple of glass vases, and a Persian lamb coat. I got all of this for 20.00

Presidential mini bottles, 36 in all, from George Washington to Nixon

Presidential mini bottles, 36 in all, from George Washington to Nixon

Mr T was still with me, He had won some tool thingys he was all excited about. Boy toys. So we took this load back to the car and filled up the back. We hadn’t finished looking outside so we wandered around and found 2 large boxes of vintage hats and fabric. These were labeled as having been part of a theatrical company, one hat was labeled “Metropolitan Opera” another was a brown and white mink fur (I’m sure he’ll correct me on this). I knew this would go for a lot. I love vintage accessories, but collectors really want immaculate clean hats, I wasn’t sure how complete these would be. The 2 boxes got a lot of interest. Of course my limit is 40.00, I asked one person if this was their lot, and some “helpful” person chimed in, “it’s not theirs until they pay for it” Duh!. Real helpful. Mr. T spends a lot on individual items, I spend a little for bunches of stuff, so when this lot went up to 50.00 he said keep bidding, I stayed in till 90.00. After it was over, he said, we should have gone in on it together. Ohhhhh, I thought we were when he told me to go up to 90.00. Time for Lunch.

Inside there was a whole table full of hand painted dog figurines, the composite stuff that is everywhere now. But these were signed from the 1980s. They weren’t that old, or that well done, but I love selling dogs to my buyers in Australia and England so I was interested in them. I was willing to go to 100.00 for 23.00 of them. But I had to wait and see if anyone would buy them individually. One woman bought a boston terrier for 20.00. After that I told the auctioneer I wanted to bid on all the remaining. He started the bidding at 50.00 (usually they start at 20.00, but there were so many this saves time) there was one other bidder, but I got them for 90.00. Each one came with a little rug or pillow to sit on. Kinda cute.

21 Dogs Oh My!

21 Dogs Oh My!

I’ll leave you with a photo of some local Eastern Shore color. So many houses get abandoned here. People just pick up one day leave and never come back. We had one in our neighborhood that slowly slanted sideways, till one Christmas Eve it collapsed like a house of cards. This house is on a main highway I drive on every week to get to the auction

Abandoned house on Eastern Shore, MD

Abandoned house on Eastern Shore, MD

Also, here’s my happy orange Buddha, hanging out with some stone bunnies and a squirrel:

Happy Buddha and squirrell

Happy Buddha and squirrell

 

5 Responses to “Gretel Goes to the Dogs”

  1. sydney21629 Says:

    cool old house! i hope it gets fixed up one day. it would make a great B & B.

  2. Thank you ! Love reading your posts ! Robin

  3. Todd Hughes Says:

    Great report but you left out about the armless scary Doll and the Mahjong pieces !
    T


Leave a Reply

