Gretel's Treasures

Follow her hunt for vintage jewelry and other treasures

Gretel goes from Princess to Peasant, but Finds her Crown March 1, 2013

The Best of Todays Jewelry!

The Best of Todays Jewelry!

Well, lucky me, this week I got my act together. I took my “junk” jewelry to the auction house and set it up in a case on Tuesday. Freezing cold, in a large barn pretty much alone. Quite a different experience from Auction Day. I was assigned case “J”. Got all my pretties arranged nicely in the case. We accumulate so much junk jewelry by buying lots. I had about 30 pairs of pierced earrings I haven’t been able to sell online (cheap) so I decided to drop them at the auction. This is how it’s done, you buy stuff, then bring it back the next week and sell it. That’s why the jewelry gets really old. You see the same thing over and over. I toddled around looking at the few things that were set up already, rather relaxed, usually you are poised for the hunt, not letting on what you’re really interested in….I on the other had gush over everything. My idea of a poker face in reverse. Everything is so cool. I”m not bidding on any of it, but it’s cool.

I came back late Wed morning,. Miss M. behind the jewelry counter wanted to show me some things, I started to say that I’ve been going behind the counter these days, she said that an incident had happened and they couldn’t allow that any more. (Thus Gretel has gone from Princess to Peasant)…Oh well. bummer. No more rolling around in the aisles covered in jewels. She showed me some things she thought I might like, there were a few rhinestone pins. Some beads. I wandered around the cases on my own and found a little Trifari sterling crown pin. Ooooooh. I could use one of those. It was missing some stones, I think I can fix it. I put that on my wish list. I went over and looked at the big cases of junk jewelry (where I was selling) and found a case with what looked like an Hobe glass bead necklace with a big rhinestone clasp. Strung on chain. but it was crumpled in a little ball so I couldn’t see the whole thing. There was another watermelon glass crystal multistrand necklace in there too. I want to buy good costume jewelry, and i don’t know where it is. (for wholesale prices)…There were also gun holsters, souveniers from casinsos, and bone tidbit forks in this same case. Hmmmm, guns, who do I know that likes guns? Mr. T! My auction buddy T loves tools, guns, holsters, military junk, and survivalist food that is already 20 years old. I saw a collaboration in the works. So I called him, tracked him down and we went running to the case, trying to not look interested. Hmmm, yes that holster might be something, another holster, a bunch of junk, so we negotiated between the two of us who would bid (him) and how high to go (60.00) If this Hobe panned out I’d be good, otherwise not so.

Meanwhile I’m marking my spot at the front of the auction table. Snoozing while they auction off 4 cases of coins. How boring. They’re all round, stamped with some lady wearing a sheet, liberty dollars? I don’t know. I even told a newbie that someone had marked their space and they would have to move. (nicely)… I got the feeling there were some different people here. This bulldog of a guy stood next to my “spot” then seemed reluctant to move over a smidge so I could fit it. I hate MEN who feel that they are entitled to everything because they are men. Ya know what I mean. So I squeezed back into my spot and didn’t budge. The first “junk” case was full of paper folding fans. I don’t know anything about them, but I’ll buy anything interesting for 10.00, and that’s what they went for! Maybe 10-20 folding fans. Nothing exceptional, but one had a mother of pearl handle, one had a lucite wih sparkles handle, there was a handpainted one, and a bunch of others. That really interests me. Like my owl box in January.

bamboo and fabric fan with lucite handle

bamboo and fabric fan with lucite handle

handpainted fabric fan

handpainted fabric fan

We got our case for 60.00 exactly. T took out what he wanted, I’m going to go through and see what I can rescue from it, then I’m going to take it all back to the auction, flip it back and try and bring our cost down. If we can get 20.00 for the sale of the remains, that would bring our cost down to 40.00. And the Hobe. Well, take a look at the picture.

Beautiful Hobe glass bead necklace, rhinestone clasp, 2 of 3 strands complete!

Beautiful Hobe glass bead necklace, rhinestone clasp, 2 of 3 strands complete!

Last week Miss L outbid me on a cool Tabra necklace. She was still apologetic about it this week. I’d already forgotten about it! I said I was cool, we agreed it doesn’t happen often. We usually are looking for different things. I’m looking for colorful big items that would look good online. She does flea markets, so she can sell alot of stuff I can’t like rings. I could buy tons of sterling rings but I just feel like they are something you need to try one. Plus they’re sized.

I have already forgotten what I got 2 days ago. My husband drove off tonight with the box of goodies. Thus I still need to take pictures. One weird thing I bought was a showcase of paper fans. I don’t know how many, they went for 10.00, so I threw up a bid. Surely someone will fall in love with vintage paper fans. One has advertising from the 30s, I haven’t even looked at them. Mr. T put them in our box of junk and put it out my car. I purchased some rhinestone jewelry. I tried to get a trifari parure necklace, bracelet, and earrings but I think I quit at 40.00. IT wasn’t an exceptional set, not very old, I thought I could sneak it out of there for 15.00 no go. Finally they got to the little sterling gold washed trifari crown. It’s missing a couple of stones, I think I can fix it, don’t know if I’ll be selling it. I collect crown jewelry, and I never seem to get anything at the auction for myself!….I gave up when they got to the silver jewelry. There were 3 things I liked, and I just wasn’t feeling like hanging around to be outbid.

My trifari sterling crown

My trifari sterling crown

I’m just not really feeling the love of the hunt right now. My Ebay store has gotten a bit messed up, and it’s taking me weeks to get it up to proper performance, which means I’ve also fallen behind in my new listings. I just am feeling a little burnt out right now. Maybe I need to switch gears or something. I’m feeling a bit like a hamster on a treadmill right now. And I need to mix it up a little. Anyone out there every get tired of what they’re doing? I have alot on my emotional plate right now. I tend to obsess about Gretel’s Treasures and ignore other things, which I can’t be doing right now.

Next week I’m planning on attacking the field again. If the weather is good on Tuesday, it should be a good Wed. I enjoy wandering around out there just loooking for weird stuff. Who know what I’ll find!….

….Hubby and child returned with Gretel’s Treasures from Wed. I completely forgot what I got! Here are some pictures. All of these are good pieces, it’s amazing I was really selective this week, and it shows, very little “junque” jewelry!

smaller rhinestone pins, another crown! with a cross.

smaller rhinestone pins, another crown! with a cross.

Watermelon aurora borealis crystal glass necklace

Watermelon aurora borealis crystal glass necklace

Hair ornaments, Triffari sweater clip

Hair ornaments, Triffari sweater clip

3 very nice all unsigned rhinestone pins. Center looks like unsigned Regency?

3 very nice all unsigned rhinestone pins. Center looks like unsigned Regency?

Sandor enamel leaf pin, Limoge porcelain pin, Boucher fish pin

Sandor enamel leaf pin, Limoge porcelain pin, Boucher fish pin

Weiss bracelet and earrings!

Weiss bracelet and earrings!

bone tidbit spoons forks in original box. Don't know what they are!

bone tidbit spoons forks in original box. Don’t know what they are!

 

2 Responses to “Gretel goes from Princess to Peasant, but Finds her Crown”

  1. I love reading of your adventures at the auction Ms Gretel.. Hope to be joining you soon, in better weather.

  2. Todd Hughes Says:

    I think you did pretty good, great deal on the fans I think especially that one restaurant advertising one with girl head.

    The one holster turned out to be a Heiser which was what I thought , and hoped it would be. Denver Co. maker and is the big name in western holsters, for a colt single action too which Is about as good as it gets.

    I was so shocked at getting out bid on the case with the big knife I forgot to pay attention to see what your case went for…hope it did well!

    I have a feeling next week is going to be special !


Leave a Reply

